related news

Who will be World Mayor 2014?


Six EUROCITIES mayors are in the running for the 2014 prize.

Voting is now open for the World Mayor 2014 prize, and six EUROCITIES mayors have been shortlisted for this year’s award. There are 25 shortlisted mayors spread across six continents, who were selected on 18 June out of an initial list of 122 nominees.

Amongst the 25 are the mayors of six EUROCITIES member cities: Daniël Termont, mayor of Ghent; Alain Juppé, mayor of Bordeaux; Nils Usakovs, mayor of Riga; George Ferguson, mayor of Bristol; Joe Anderson, mayor of Liverpool; and Aziz Kocaoglu, mayor of Izmir.

You can now vote for your preferred candidate by visiting the World Mayor prize website, here. All votes must be supported by a statement describing why your chosen mayor is worthy of the prize. Voting is open until mid-October. 

The World Mayor prize is the initiative of the City Mayors Foundation, and is awarded every two years to a mayor who has made outstanding contributions to his or her community and has developed a vision for urban living that is relevant to towns and cities across the globe. A winning mayor and two runners up will be chosen based on not only the number of votes but the persuasiveness of the arguments behind the votes. The results will be announced in January 2015.

The 2012 World Mayor prize was awarded to the late mayor of Bilbao, Iñaki Azkuna, for his role in transforming Bilbao from a declining industrial city into an international centre of tourism and the arts.

Visit for more information.