EUROCITIES 2016 winners are: Athens, Leeds and Zaragoza

  • cooperation
  • culture
  • economy
  • environment
  • knowledge society
  • mobility

Athens, Leeds and Zaragoza were announced as the winners of this year’s EUROCITIES awards on the theme of the sharing economy.

The three winners of the 2016 EUROCITIES awards were announced at a ceremony in Milan on 17 November, during our annual conference, EUROCITIES 2016 Milan.

The winners were awarded in three permanent categories – cooperation, innovation and participation - linked to the theme of the annual conference, which this year is ‘sharing ciites’, looking at the impact of the sharing economy on cities.

The winning projects are:

Cooperation - La Colaboradora, Zaragoza: a co-working space with a differerence, members of La Colaboradora work in a 'bank time' approach whereby they share their skills and experience with others. 

Innovation - SynAthina, Athens: this digital platform enables citizens to put forward ideas and projects to improve the local community, and the city council uses the input to adapt and update outdated rules and regulations. 

Participation - Migrant Access Project, Leeds: this project empowers local communities to support newcomers, by equipping them with the knowledge to advise others on issues such as healthcare, education and employment opportunities. 

Nine cities were shortlisted for the awards in July across the three categories: Helsinki, Nice and Zaragoza – cooperation; Athens, Glasgow and Utrecht – innovation; and Amsterdam, Gijon and Leeds – participation.

The shortlisted cities were asked to send a short video about their projects, which you can find here.

The winners were selected by an independent jury, comprising a representative from host city, academia, EU institutions, the media and the third sector. The list of jury members can be found here

EUROCITIES staff contact

Nicola Vatthauer